Glittering night of nights for Chisholm students

More than 220 guests attended the awards ceremony at Bunjil Place.

By Danielle Kutchel

Talented students were recognised at Chisholm Institute’s annual Education Awards Gala Evening late last month.

The event, held on Wednesday JUne 19, saw more than 220 guests, including representatives from government, local council, industry and schools, as well as staff, students and their families, pack Bunjil Place.

The Awards recognise the outstanding achievements and contributions made by members of the Chisholm student and staff community across diverse fields of academic endeavour and eight categories.

Award winners in these categories often go on to represent Chisholm at a state level.

The MC for the evening was Denise Stevens, who has had an extensive career in vocational education and training, which included a national Australian Training Award.

Chair of the Institute Board, Stephen Marks, officially welcomed guests.

“These awards celebrate outstanding students and staff across Chisholm’s broad and diverse portfolio of courses and programs, and on behalf of the Chisholm Board I would like to acknowledge their hard work and dedication,” he said.

Some of the finalists in the awards were drawn from Berwick, Cockatoo, Cranbourne, Devon Meadows, Lynbrook, Narre Warren.

Berwick resident Jessica Riches took out the Apprentice of the Year award, capping off a busy few months which have seen her hairdressing skills recognised in some of the most prestigious competitions in the industry.

In May, Ms Riches also won the coveted title of Hairdressing Apprentice of the Year 2019 at the Australian Hairdressing and Fashion Awards. Last month, she was awarded first place in the category of Female Photographic Competition at the 2019 HBIA Australian Hairdressing Championships.

Other award winners this year include Rowville resident Nicholas Steer, who won Trainee of the Year; Sinead Boss from Dingley who won Vocational Student of the Year; Aspendale resident Cara McCourt, who won Secondary Studies Student of the Year; and International Student of the Year Kanishka Mallawa Thanthride. Matthew de Groot won the Bill Norling Award for Outstanding Automotive Apprentice and Karen Clarke won Teacher of the Year.


Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.