Oz day celebrations honours community

Residents and community groups were recognised for their dedication during the Holt Australia Day awards. Picture: BRIAN J. HUGHES

A huge crowd has poured into Hampton Park for Australia Day celebrations where several members of the community were honoured with awards.

Federal Member for Holt Anthony Byrne presented awards to 28 outstanding individuals, two posthumous awards and seven local organisations for their contribution to our community during the Holt Australia Day Awards ceremony held at Arthur Wren Hall on 26 January.Hundreds gathered on the day which featured a barbecue, live entertainment, face painting, market stalls, jumping castle, community displays and more.

The event was an opportunity to recognise people like Sally Francis who volunteers with Riding for the Disabled Victoria and Riding for the Disabled Australia which has earned her an Order of Australia Medal for service to people with a disability and horse sports.

The Sikh Volunteers Association was also recognised with an award. One of the great stories to emerge in the wake of the tragedy that unfolded with the bushfires was the quick response for relief provided by the Sikh Volunteers who served hundreds of meals to victims of bushfire affected communities.

Another recipient worthy of mention was Cranbourne North resident Rebecca Hyland who led efforts within the Tulliallan Community Action Group for five years to stop the development of a Cranbourne East estate on land earmarked for sports fields, with neighbours saying they were “overjoyed” by the result.

Ms Hyland alongside other local residents led a consistent campaign in 2019 with multiple rallies and events to ensure the green space that included soccer and cricket fields was maintained to the benefit of local residents.

Mr Byrne said: “I congratulate all those receiving a Holt Australia Day Award for their exemplary community spirit and endless hours of volunteer work making our community a better and safer place to live.”

“Australia Day is a wonderful day when we can recognise those people who contribute to the community and make our community a better place.”

The Award recipients include:

Senior Venerable Thich Giac Tin

Aanchal Meshram

Andrew Gai

Bassir Qadiri

Casey Multifaith Network

Colin Butler

Cranbourne Stroke Support Group

Dalvinder Garcha

Deborah Chamberlain

Emmanuel Mabil Majok

Fiona and Colin Crane

Gail Kavanagh

Immanuel Marthoma Church Melbourne

Jasbir Singh Suropada

Jodie Hollis

Kaci Hillis

Kaye Coram

Kelly Warren

Kenneth Drane

Kim Warlond

Dr Leon Shapero

Lindsay Mitchell

Lisa Norman

Louise Berkelmans

Michael Hall

Michael Johnson

Senior Sergeant Niall Waring

Dr Pat Macwhirter

Rebecca Hyland

Rex (Derek) Genoni

Sally Francis OAM

Sikh Volunteers Australia (Australian Bushfire Response)

Simon Walliker

ZimCarrum Soccer Club

Gethsemane Church Charity

Cranbourne Regional Uniting Church Food Truck