Condron and Watts claim titles

Back from left; Men’s Club Champion finalist Wayne Stevens, Tim Katz (Marker) and Club Champion Brett Condron. Front row; Finalist Erin Price, Women’s champion Bec Watts and Jacqui Butera (Marker). 387097 Pictures: SUPPLIED


Kooweerup has crowned its Club Champions for 2023-24 with Brett Condron claiming a second Men’s title and Bec Watts taking home her first win in the Women’s Singles.

Brett played another previous winner in Wayne Stevens in a high-quality final.

Wayne got away to a good start and established a narrow lead before Brett found his rhythm and went on to win 26-14.

In the Ladies there was a very even start by Bec and Erin Price before Bec got on top and won 25-16.

Bec is a first-year player at the club and Erin is only in her second season – so it was a great effort by both to make the final.


Kooweerup’s two Saturday teams were red-hot on the weekend with Division 8 defeating Blue Hills 75-43 at home and Division 9 winning 51-41 at Yamala Park.

Division 8 assured itself of a home final along the way by confirming it will finish on top of the ladder.

It was an all-the-way win by Brett Condron, Peter Butera, Bec Watts and Daniel Price, who led 24-5 at the break and allowed their opponents a little latitude before scoring a 26-16 win.

Another all-round performance was produced by Steven Jenkins, Ian Richardson, Jimi Watts and Jim Jenkins who built on an 18-6 lead at the break to go on to win 28-10.

The close game for the day was Wayne Stevens, Rob Matthews, Rex Alexander and Cam Davey who overcame a slow start and a couple of very experienced opponents to win 21-17.

Division 9 had both rinks have wins by similar margins against Yamala Park.

A 24-18 win was a good platform for the team, set up by Margaret Royle, Erin Price and evergreens Peter Stevens and Mary Masters.

The inclusion of Arthur Giaccotto helped Tim Katz, Mav Katz and Jacqui Butera record a 27-23 win.


Kooweerup was able to hold on to fourth position with just one round to play in the season.

Playing at home against Somerville, Kooweerup recorded an impressive 81-41 win despite losing on one rink.

Totally overwhelming their opposition to set up the overall win was the rink of Trevor Kitchin, Arthur Giaccotto, Jill Roissetter and Helen Ralph with a 35-8 win.

The rink had a good start and then continued their winning form.

It was a similar story for the impressive Jim Jenkins, Margaret Royle, Betty King and Stephen Payne who scored a 31-13 win.

Going down on the day was Joy Jenkins, Charles Poulsen, Pauline Gray and Joe Barlow who were defeated 15-20.

It’s the final round this week with Kooweerup playing Karingal away.

There is a proverbial “log jam” for third and fourth places with Blue Hills on 114 points, Kooweerup 107, Karingal 107 and Mornington Civic 107.

Good luck to our team…you have done very well for the season.

Friday Triples

As we close towards the final day of Friday Triples here are the results from games on Friday 2 February.

The winning team was Jim Garnham, Geoff Barber and Roger Balment from Korumburra on 35 points.

Nearly always in the money is the runner up team of Trevor Kitchin, Ken White (Longwarry) and Noel Speight (Kooweerup) on 34 points.

Best first game went to Vince Bevilacqua, Lindsay Stephenson and Luis Aquilar (Pakenham) with 17 points and best second game was won by the “Heinz 57 varieties” team of Gerry Fuller (Garfield), Helen Ralph (Kooweerup) and Lorraine Bluck (Longwarry) on 19 points.

The chocolates for the most touches were shared by Tina Courtin (Carrum) and Vince Bevilacqua (Pakenham) on six.

-Rex Alexander-