Independent-minded Liberal

Damien Rosario.

By Cam Lucadou-Wells

CASEY councillor Damien Rosario has confirmed his Liberal Party membership after leaving that question blank in a recent Star News survey.
Cr Rosario, who is re-contesting his River Gum Ward seat in this month’s council elections, said he’d left the question blank because his political affiliations were “irrelevant”.
“I am running as an independent,” he told Star News.
Other River Gum candidates who have declared political party memberships – and responded to the survey – were Wayne Smith (ALP) and John Gulzari (The Greens).
Former Greens councillor Lynette Keleher stated she has no party membership currently.
Four candidates in Mayfield Ward have declared Liberal Party membership in the survey.
They are councillors Gary Rowe and Amanda Stapledon as well as Graham Smith and Aravind Putta.
In Four Oaks Ward, there are a mixture of political hues including Brian Oates (ALP), John Glazebrook (Sustainable Population Australia), as well as sitting councillors Rosalie Crestani (Rise Up Australia Party) and Rafal Kaplon (Liberals).
Edrington Ward councillors Mick Morland and Susan Serey are Liberal members.
Riley Baird of the Greens was the only other surveyed candidate with declared political allegiances in the ward.
The five surveyed Springfield Ward candidates Cr Sam Aziz, Garry Page, Rex Flannery, Kasuni Mendis and Paul Richardson, had no declared party membership.
Balla Balla Ward’s Geoff Ablett – who has run for state Parliament as a Liberal – and Tom Rennick didn’t respond to the survey.

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.